AI Stays Local

Compare

AI Stays Local and LM Studio

A desktop application for discovering and running local models, with a command line and a local server.

When LM Studio is the better fit

  • You want a desktop application you can use today.
  • You want to chat with a document on your own machine without a command line.
  • You want to route work between several of your own devices now.

Side by side

LM Studio as its own public pages describe it on 2026-09-21, and AI Stays Local at the maturity its product data records. Where a source does not say, the table says so rather than guessing.

DimensionLM StudioAI Stays Local
InterfaceDesktop application, the lms command line, and a local server with OpenAI-compatible endpoints.Command line and an OpenAI-compatible local API, in private beta for selected testers. A desktop app is planned and not built.
Runs models itselfYes.Yes. Inference sits behind an engine adapter; the recorded profiles run on upstream engines under their own licences.
Documents and retrievalYes. Documents can be attached to a chat, and the documentation describes retrieval.Folders you grant, lexical retrieval, answers that cite file and location, and refusal when the documents do not contain the answer.
Hardware planningNot stated in the source checkedEvaluates the machine and recommends a model profile (private beta). Each model states execution, validation, usability, hardware and availability separately.
More than one machineThe documentation describes LM Link, which routes local AI workloads across your devices.Planned. Multi-node execution is designed and not implemented.
PlatformsmacOS on Apple Silicon, Windows on x64 and ARM64, and Linux on x64.Command line on Linux and macOS for selected testers. Measurements published from one Linux ARM64 machine.
LicenceNot stated in the source checkedCommercial product. A Free edition is defined for local use; paid prices are provisional. The runtime is not open source.

Where AI Stays Local puts its emphasis

  • AI Stays Local recommends a profile from an evaluation of the hardware, and publishes the evidence per model with the machine it was taken on.
  • Its desktop app is planned, not built. Today it is a command line and a local API for selected testers.
  • Its multi-machine design is planned, not implemented.

Sources, checked 2026-09-21: LM Studio documentation. Descriptions of other projects are summaries of their own public pages on that date and may since have changed. No statement here is a claim about another project's security.

Available through a controlled private beta. Larger model profiles are added as they complete hardware validation.